Committee Cup

The Morpeth Gathering & Committee Cup – a bit of history

The first Morpeth Gathering was held in 1968, and the Committee Cup for best country dance band was first awarded in 1969 to the “Eric Goodfellow Group”. The Redheughers first won this in 1987, and again in 1998.

The Blyth Valley Band had great success winning the cup in 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006; (six wins) while the Redheughers held the cup in 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016 and now 2018.

In between the cup was won by the Tyneside Fiddle Alliance in 2013,14,15, and Hexham Village band in 2017.

With 9 wins to their name the Redheughers have held this prestigious cup more than any other band.